Bible, Blessings, Christian, Faith, Inspirational, Inspirations, Work

Rejection


“Officially unemployed, but silently building my empire”

This is how I prefer to look at my days. Starting a small venture is not easy and I know I am still many a-roller-coaster ride away towards getting to a comfortable place. The ground is always shaky when one decides to pursue one’s passion.  You plan, you calculate, you spend sleepless nights turning ideas over and over, but you cannot truly anticipate everything.

Rejection becomes an everyday thing.  Some days you get just one; and on better days, it is all that you get (boo hoo!). You never get used to it, really – regardless how many times it happens. Each rejection is always a giant rock of salt rubbed coarsely on a fresh wound. Outreach is exciting, but the consequences can be brutal for a fragile soul.

Rejection from close proximity though is a surprising burst of enlightenment.  I realized that tides do change with the season. I needed to sit back and take stock of where I am. Will I let one surprising rejection define how I will move forward?  No. Not by the hair on my chinny-chin-chin.

Surprisingly, this little pocket of drama made me see that there are hidden blessings of realization tucked within its folds:

  1. I found people who see beyond the “brand” that I represent. True friends become truer friends when the waves are unabating.
  2. I connected with kindred spirits. Kind-hearted individuals who opened their doors nary a second thought.
  3. I discovered that even the most honest of intentions may be misinterpreted by those with misgiving hearts.
  4. I understood that “No” does not equate to “Give up”.
  5. I am made of stronger stuff than I give myself credit for.

Each one of us will go through a similar phase in our lives – those fortunate will perhaps not need to go through several cycles, but for many of us, rejection may seem to be the steady stream that is ever-present in every goal that we strive to achieve.  Each of us will figure out a way to deal with the multitude of emotions that a rejection brings forth, and still, each of us will survive even the baddest (sic), the bluest and the saddest days.

Rejection is not meant to discourage us. Rejection is meant to bring out the fire in your heart and drive you to forge ahead. Do not give up!

Keep pushing forward!

 

Deuteronomy 31:6 NIV

6 Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Leave a Reply

